We are thankful to have worked with wonderful researchers and students in the past.

Read more about them below.


Sherrilene Classen, PhD, MPH, OTR/L, FAOTA, FGSA.

Dr. Classen was the founder of the i-Mobile Research Lab. She is currently Professor and Chair of the Department of Occupational Therapy at the University of Florida; and an Extraordinary Professor at Stellenbosch University in Cape Town, South Africa. Dr. Classen currently mentors two graduate students in our lab and remains a close collaborator. To learn more about Dr. Classen’s work visit https://mobility.phhp.ufl.edu/about-us/director/


Graduate students


Sarah Krasniuk, PhD

Sarah completed her PhD in Health and Rehabilitation Sciences in the i-Mobile Driving Research Lab, under the supervision of Dr. Classen, and the on-site advisory mentorship of Dr. Alvarez. Her thesis focused on the clinical predictors of the simulated driving performance of people with multiple sclerosis. Sarah remains passionate about promoting health and well-being. She is actively involved in the community, fundraising for the Canadian Cancer Society, Heart and Stroke Foundation, Hospice Northwest, and Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada; and volunteering for the Thunder Bay Special Olympics floor hockey team.

Shabnam Medhizadah, MSc

Shabnam completed her MSc in Health and Rehabilitation sciences in the i-Mobile Research Lab, under the supervision of Dr. Sherrilene Classen. Her thesis focused on constructing and validating the short form of the Fitness-to-Drive Screening Measure (FTDS). Shabnam is currently a PhD candidate at the University of Florida. For more information about her work visit https://mobility.phhp.ufl.edu/2017/02/21/shabnam-medhizadah/

Undergraduate students

Sean Kim, BMSc

Sean is an undergraduate student in Medical Sciences. He was a work and study student in the i-Mobile Lab and completed an undergraduate research internship with Dr. Alvarez in 2020. He remains involved as a volunteer. Sean is part of Western's varsity fencing team and is also involved in a variety of medicine related activities such as LHSC volunteering and Global Medical Missions Alliance. Funding: Faculty of Health Sciences’ Undergraduate Research Internship 

Work and Study students

Yipeng Zhu (2021-2022)

Reem Bagajati (2019-2021)

Rayna Naik (2021)

Suzy Lee (2020)

Sean Kim (2019-2020)

Katharine Fuchigami (2018-2019)

Aamir Shaikh (2017-2018)

Rachel Koot (2016-2017)

Janice Man Yan Ng (2016-2017)

Janna Loyer (2015-2016)



Rayna Naik (2021-2022)

Sean Kim (2021-2022)

Victoria Leung (2019-2022)

Fidha Sabir (2019-2021)

Eugene Chung (2019-2022)

Anupradi Sultania (2019-2020)

Gabrielle Morgan (2019)

Leena Gibara (2017-2018)

Kwesi Asantei (2015-2016)